Kabel ZERO

The aim of the Kabel ZERO project is to develop a climate-friendly way of generating steam for use in the paper industry’s highly energy-intensive drying processes. Energy based on geothermal heat is to be used to dry paper. Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH plans to build a deep geothermal plant reaching a depth of up to 4,000 metres and with a capacity of 20 megawatts, which is expected to cover more than half of the company’s current energy needs on a renewable basis in the near future.

The project is a collaboration between Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH and the research institutions Fraunhofer IEG and Fraunhofer UMSICHT for the purpose of developing a steam generation system harnessing geothermal energy to dry paper at the paper manufacturer’s location in Hagen in South Westphalia. A seismic survey campaign and a shallow borehole are being used to assess the geothermal potential of the limestone beneath the Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper site and to draw up a process engineering concept for generating process steam from deep geothermal energy. The project is supported by funding from the EU and the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Innovation: Deep geothermal energy for paper production

Consuming around 59 terawatt-hours of energy each year, the paper industry is one of Germany’s five most energy-intensive sectors. Up to now, it has covered most of its energy needs through combined heat and power generation using fossil fuels, primarily natural gas. The industry’s enormous energy demand cannot be reduced to the desired extent by means of energy-efficiency measures alone. The incorporation of renewable heat sources therefore makes particularly good sense. In order to facilitate their use, however, technologies are needed that are not yet established in industrial applications. The use of geothermal heat to generate the thermal energy required for the paper drying process in the form of heating steam will serve as a pilot project for the entire paper industry as well as other energy-intensive manufacturing sectors in North Rhine-Westphalia and Europe as a whole.

 

“Deep geothermal energy has the potential to be a key component of the transition to low-carbon heat. In Hagen, we are working with our partners to investigate the opportunities this technology offers for the paper industry in particular.”

Martin Schröder, Head of Energy Management at Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH

The advantage: Sustainable heat source

The issue of sustainability has a decisive role to play in paper manufacture, not only in terms of raw material inputs, but also in the production process, where energy is the top priority. Savings in this cost-intensive area as well as independence from related raw material prices have direct positive effects on production costs. The base load capability of the geothermal energy source means that a certain degree of self-sufficiency can be achieved, helping to increase the future security of the production facility and location.

Impact: Substantial reduction in CO2 emissions

A biomass plant currently already supplies around 12 per cent of the energy used in the paper drying process in Hagen, with the remaining 88 per cent covered by a combined heat and power generation system that is not carbon neutral. This requires an annual input of natural gas of up to 550,000 megawatt-hours. In order to reduce the proportion of fossil sources of energy, Kabel ZERO intends to obtain a large part of the energy it requires directly on site by harnessing deep geothermal energy. According to estimates, this has the potential to almost halve the location’s current demand for natural gas and thus save around 30,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions each year.

30,000 

tonnes of CO2 potential

annual saving

 

Links & Downloads

Contacts

Martin Schröder
Head of Energy Management at Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH
send e-mail

Kabel ZERO

Ziel des Projekts „Kabel ZERO“ ist die Entwicklung einer klimafreundlichen Dampferzeugung für den Einsatz in den besonders energieintensiven Trocknungsprozessen der Papierindustrie. Für die Papiertrocknung soll Energie auf Basis von Erdwärme eingesetzt werden. Die Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH  plant die Errichtung einer Tiefengeothermie-Anlage mit einer Tiefe von bis zu 4.000 Metern und einer Leistung von etwa 20 Megawatt, die bereits in naher Zukunft mehr als die Hälfte des heutigen Energiebedarfs regenerativ abdecken soll.

Im Projekt kooperieren Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH, Fraunhofer IEG und Fraunhofer UMSICHT, um am Standort des Papierherstellers im südwestfälischen Hagen eine Dampferzeugung zur Papiertrocknung mit Hilfe von Erdwärme zu entwickeln. Mittels einer seismischen Messkampagne und einer Flachbohrung soll das geothermale Potenzial des Kalksteins unter dem Betriebsgelände der Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper abgeschätzt und ein verfahrenstechnisches Konzept zur Prozessdampferzeugung aus Tiefengeothermie erstellt werden. Unterstützt wird das Projekt durch Fördergelder der EU und des Landes NRW.

Innovation: Tiefengeothermie zur Papierherstellung

Die Papierindustrie gehört mit rund 59 Terawattstunden Energieverbrauch im Jahr zu den fünf energieintensivsten Branchen Deutschlands.  Bisher deckt sie ihren Energiebedarf überwiegend durch Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung unter Einsatz fossiler Energieträger, vor allem Erdgas. Allein über Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen lässt sich der enorme Energieaufwand nicht beliebig weit reduzieren. Besonders sinnvoll ist daher die Einbindung erneuerbarer Wärmequellen. Um diese nutzen zu können, bedarf es Technologien, die in der industriellen Anwendung noch nicht etabliert sind. Der Einsatz von Erdwärme zur Erzeugung der zur Papiertrocknung benötigten thermischen Energie in Form von Heizdampf hat in NRW wie Europa Pilotcharakter für die gesamte Papierindustrie sowie weitere energieintensive Produktionsbranchen.

„Tiefengeothermie kann zu einem wichtigen Baustein in der Wärmewende werden. In Hagen erproben wir mit unseren Partnern gezielt die Chancen der Technologie für die Papierindustrie."

Martin Schröder, Leiter Energiewirtschaft bei der Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH

Vorteil: Nachhaltige Wärmequelle

In der Papierproduktion spielt das Thema Nachhaltigkeit eine entscheidende Rolle, nicht nur auf den Rohstoffeinsatz bezogen, sondern auch im Produktionsprozess, wobei Energie hier an erster Stelle steht. Einsparungen in diesem kostenintensiven Bereich sowie die Unabhängigkeit von diesbezüglichen Rohstoffpreisen haben unmittelbar positive Auswirkungen auf die Produktionskosten. Durch die Grundlastfähigkeit der geothermalen Energiequelle kann ein gewisser Grad an Autarkie erreicht und die Zukunftssicherheit von Produktionsanlage und Standort gesteigert werden.

Effekt: Erhebliche CO2-Reduktion

Rund zwölf Prozent der für die Papiertrocknung in Hagen eingesetzten Energie liefert aktuell schon eine Biomasseanlage, die übrigen 88 Prozent werden durch nicht-CO2-neutrale Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung abgedeckt. Hierzu ist ein jährlicher Erdgaseinsatz von bis zu 550.000 Megawattstunden erforderlich. Um den Anteil fossiler Energieträger zu reduzieren, beabsichtigt Kabel ZERO, einen Großteil der benötigten Energie mittels Tiefengeothermie direkt am Standort zu gewinnen. Geschätzt könnte der derzeitige Erdgasbedarf damit nahezu halbiert und so rund 30.000 Tonnen CO2-Emissionen jährlich eingespart werden.

 

 

 

30.000

Tonnen CO2-Einsparung
jährlich möglich.

 

Ansprechpartner

Martin Schröder
Kabel Premium Pulp & Paper GmbH, Leiter Energiewirtschaft
E-Mail senden